SEV Service Desk

Distribution Units

The distribution unit’s main purpose is, as the name implies, to distribute electricity from the plants to all the customers according to demand throughout the country.
This SEV department is large and diverse.
The power supply system is divided into several voltages – 60 kV (60,000 volt), 20 kV (20,000 volt), 10 kV (10,000 volt), 6 kV (6,000 volt) and 0.4 kV (400 volt).

High Voltage

The highest voltage used by SEV is 60 kV. This part of the power supply is used for moving power between the main stations in the main area. The 60 kV lines between Vestmanna, Tórshavn and Skálabotn were built in the beginning of the 1960s. Then came the lines between Klaksvík, Eiði, the Sund plant and the west side of Tórshavn.
The 20 kV and 10 kV parts of the supply system are used for the distribution of power from the main plants to the transformer sub stations situated in populated areas. There is a historic reason for SEV having both 20 kV and 10 kV lines. Before SEV encompassed the whole nation there were several power companies – for example there was Elektricitetsfelagið í Suðuroy, Tórshavns Elforsyning and Klaksvig Elforsyning. Some of the power companies used power in 20 kV, and others used 10 kV.

Low Voltage

Three locations use 6 kV – the connection between Kirkju and Hattarvík, from Hvannasundi and north to Múla, and up to Brúnaskarð.
The 0.4 kV supply goes from transformer sub stations in populated areas to households and companies. In this area there have been some drastic changes in recent years. After the hurricane in the late 1980s it was decided to place all of the low voltage lines into cables. This goal has almost been reached.

Cable- and Lines Engineers

SEV has four cable and lines engineers who have the responsibility of running and updating the high and low voltage cable and line systems.
  • The northern islands Norðoyggjar connected to Strond.
  • The island Eysturoy and the west of Norðstreymoy connected to Skálabotn.
  • The areas Norðstreymoy, Vágar, Mykines, Suðurstreymoy, Nólsoy, Koltur, Hestur, Sandoy og Skúvoy connected to Miðvág, Vestmanna, Tórshavn and Skopun.
  • The island Suðuroy connected to Tvøroyri and Vágur.


SEV plans the high- and low voltage areas itself. The power company works closely with the municipalities, the Office of Public Works (Landsverk), the telecom company Føroya Tele and other associations involving joint digging ventures. The drawing department lists all the lines and cables in a programme with FøroyaDataSavn, FDS, which is owned by the Office of Public Works, Føroya Tele, the Cadastral Office (Matrikkulstovan), SEV and the municipalities of Tórshavn and Klaksvík.

Storage and Work Shop

Because of tough weather conditions SEV has had to have a well-equipped storage at the distribution unit. The storage is in Vestmanna and it contains everything needed for a power supply system. There is also a work shop in Vestmanna, where alterations and maintenance can be carried out on tools used for work on the power supply system.

Electrical Installations

A big task within distribution is giving approvals to all electrical installations performed by approved electricians in the Faroe Islands. The installation department also manages all the kWh meters and makes sure they are properly functional. The meters monitor a
SEV costumers’ consumption. A new meter reading system, capable of remote meter reading, is currently being tested. The installation department can be found around the country in Klaksvík, Skálabotni, Vestmanna, Tórshavn and Vági.


The installation department also encompasses the power advice department and the technology department. The advice department, among others, provides information and advice about power consumption to customers, schools, companies and associations. The technology department is an internal service for SEV. It has responsibility over all the technological systems within the production plants, the 60 kV switch stations and communication systems.